PCV Flashaback: The Ifugao Youth Radio Show

Hey hey! Finally, yes, a new post! I know, I know, it’s been like…8, maybe a yearrrissshh…well let’s not get into details. What matters is that 1) this is a shiny new post, 2) the topic is about what I love most about being a PCV, and 3) I’m proving to AJ that I’m not totally failing her as a co-blogger (love you girl!) SB: How awesome were her last blogs?! If you haven’t read her last post click here…you’re welcome. Before we get started, I must say, Happy and Merry (insert holiday and special occasion here) to all of you! It has been a while, but I’ve been absent for the right reason–PCV life.  Slacking as a blogger has meant that I’ve been a very busy volunteer. I am home now (YAY!) and now that the dust has settled on my Returned Peace Corps Volunteer-ness, I can think back and reflect on some of my peeks and valleys of service and share with you starting with my PC baby, the Radio Show.

These last few months have been the most demanding of my whole service. I developed and managed two major projects, a summer youth radio program, the Ifugao Youth Radio Show (like them on facebook! IYRS) and an employability activity, the Ifugao State University Success Fair, to help students feel more prepared as young professionals and to raise money for campus activities. Between handling the responsibilities for both and closing service I was up to my ears in emotions! So. Many. Emotions.

There was this constant pressure to make sure I crossed every T and dotted every I so my youth had everything they needed, and that things ran smoothly. Did they? Of course not. Last minute changes, unexpected adjustments, budget surprises, sleepless nights, “first one in and last one out” days, constant explanations about why things were set and organized the way they were, blood, swear, and tears…you should be picturing Rocky running up the stairs with the victory I was gunning for…and STILL there were shortcomings and disappointments–failures that outweighed all the hard work because I was looking from the wrong perspective.

Our radio show, the first of its kind in our community and with PC-Philippines, started with three out of seven youth hosts somewhat comfortable speaking on air, and the rest too shy to say more than a general introduction. By our final show, every single student lead their own segment. They didn’t even rely on their scripts because they were so comfortable with each other. Every technical problem a radio show could have, we had during that last show. Mics went out, a lot of noise feedback, wrong music started at the wrong times, everything, and my young leaders weren’t even fazed. Their calmness kept me calm actually. They were confident in their abilities as hosts. They believed in themselves and trusted their skills. They did it, we did it.

1175752_211593979005052_798325536_n

As a team we proved that youth leaders need more than trainings and lectures, they need opportunities to apply their leadership, and the guidance and support to keep them on the track that they must create on their own. There was a moment when they were presenting at a meeting and described it as “our show” instead of “Ate (big sister) Ebonee’s” I almost jumped out of my seat and cheered. They finally understood who they were as leaders of the Ifugao Youth Radio Show! Listening to them promote it to strangers, speak up (fist in the air and everything) about overcoming negative comments, watching them come back, every week to keep trying was all the proof I needed to show that the initial objective, to create a platform for youth leaders to educate their peers and build on their own leadership skills, had not only been met, but exceeded.

After our first season wrapped at the end of summer we had a workshop with Mulat Pinoy/Kabataan News Network (KNN), an organization that promotes youth advocacy through media (such a perfect fit), to set up plans for next year and help us create a training manual. With a program so new it is important that they have the right guidance to continue growing, so when Mulat Pinoy agreed to be their mentoring organization, I knew the stars were aligned and the gods of successful youth programs were looking out for us!

It’s been a little over a month since our workshop, and 30 days of me being home. My youth leaders are back into student life, Mulat Pinoy is adding the finishing touches to our training manual, and I am here blogging and getting inspired all over again sharing that experience.

I am now entering a new chapter of my life, and faced with the anxiety of starting new. I read job descriptions that are exciting, but also cause me to question, if I can actually do it, but also could I be great in that position. I feel like my youth leaders felt months ago, and just like them I will try my best, have fun, and trust that I can do this!

Here’s to new adventures folks!!

Cheers,

Ebonee

IYRS Sustainability workshop

2 comments on “PCV Flashaback: The Ifugao Youth Radio Show

Leave a comment